Editing Process of First Montage

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 22.21.34
First I opened the image of the Syrian refugees that I had chosen. I used the eraser tool in Photoshop to erase everything in the background except the boy and his father.
Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 22.21.44
I then imported an image from my first shoot, taken in a large supermarket near me. I also converted the image of the boy and father to black and white.
Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 22.21.55
I then converted the background image to black and white as well. I did this to the layers seperately because they were photos taken in completely different lighting and so I wanted to adjust them accordingly. I also experimented with flipping the image horizontally to see which composition would look best.
Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 22.22.06
I then decided to change the background to this image of a meat aisle, taken in the same supermarket. I did this because this background seemed a lot more visually appealing in its more symmetrical composition.
Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 22.22.10
I then had to convert the background to black and white again and adjust accordingly.
Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 22.22.14
After adjusting the black and white effect on both layers, I decided that the layer with the boy and father was too dark. I went to Image>Adjustments>Brightness/Contrast and turned down the brightness on only that layer. I was satisfied with the result and exported it following this.

Leave a Reply

